NAAC Accredited University with Grade 'A' in 2016 For DDE RBU Results Please Click here

About Us

Rabindra Bharati University was founded on 8th May, 1962, under the Rabindra Bharati Act of Government of West Bengal, 1961, as a mark of tribute to the birth centenary of the great poet and visionary of the nation Rabindranath Tagore.
As conceived by Dr. Bidhan Chandra Roy, the then Chief Minister of West Bengal, this temple of learning dedicated to the memory of the poet, has been endeavouring to justify to a great extent its existence as a center of higher learning for promoting, extending and disseminating Tagore's thoughts and ideas in various branches of Visual Arts, Performing Arts, Human Studies and related branches of knowledge.

Our Mission

Advancement of higher learning through Open and Distance Learning System.

Dissemination of Tagore’s philosophy and culture to the larger section of the society.

Optimum utilization of resources and means for developing knowledge-based society.

Promotion of educational and cultural well-beings of the community.

Enhancement of job potentiality of individuals.

Empowerment of human resources with knowledge, culture, values, self-confidence and decision-making ability